Folders, Flipped Classroom, and FACS – Oh, My!

I am really, really, REALLY going to try to keep up with my blog this year. For me, keeping up with this is not unlike my experiences with plans to “eat healthier” and “do exercises for my upper arms”. We all know where THAT well-paved road leads. However, each day is new and each school year provides opportunity to improve and do better than the last (a benefit for those of us in education – we get TWO “New Years” a year).

New Year Fireworks

In my last post, I mentioned how Google Drive and available apps will help me to become better organized, save time, and hopefully enhance what I am doing with my students on a day-to-day basis. In both the classroom AND outside of the friendly confines of MHS (have I mentioned what a great high school I am lucky to be associated with before?).

Banners Compressed

A few wall decorations in our cafeteria…

Last week I attended a workshop learn more about the Flipped Classroom. If you have not heard of a “Flipped Class,” I encourage you to check it out here. To those of you who know me, this idea could go the way of my last 5 attempts to join a gym (my last experience was great – foiled by a strained calf muscle the first day of summer Zumba) or how many times I havebeen determined to count my calories on Monday (the wisdom of my friend, Chris, was that a Tuesday is a much better day to start a diet, I agree!) or, well, fill in the blank with my good intentions. But, I am going to give it a try – I think my students will enjoy having more time to work on their projects and less time doing seat work. I will post lessons on my You Tube Channel here,  if you subscribe, you can keep me accountable!

Flipped Classroom

This class is totally flipped!

Another thought floating around in my head has been a way to encourage my students to assume more responsibility for their own learning. The number of times I have had to replace worksheets or heard “I lost my notes,” and “my mom cleaned out my binder” (I’d like to meet a mom that has time to do that) would equal the stars in the sky. Many of us were not born with the organized gene, me included. How I have yearned to be the one who naturally organized her closet by color/garment type or knew where her birth certificate was at the drop of a hat (I do organize my closet now, but the birth certificate?). Knowing it isn’t natural for most of us, and understanding it is important for my student’s success to be able to find what they need when they need to, I have slowly moved toward providing them with an easy way to “keep it all together,” so to speak.

folders

On sale this week!

Today I found it! Thanks to Denise at FACS Classroom Ideas, I now believe I can easily implement a new level of accountability for my students. I toyed with the idea of doing Foldables, but my perfectionist tendencies would likely get in the way. (I may still try this with my Fashion Construction students…) Please check out Denise’s post from today – and if you see me in the aisles of the local mega-mart, don’t be surprised if I am purchasing LOTS of 2 pocket folders in various colors tomorrow! Heck, they are on sale and 0.15/kid is worth it.

I did it – wrote another post! (Yay for me.) See you next Sunday.

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in Classroom Organization, FACS, Google, Google Classroom, Home Economics, Teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

