Here Come a Couple New Ideas for Teaching FACS!

I have been out of town for the last several days at the annual Association for Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS) conference. Well, not real far out of town…the conference was in St. Louis this year! I always enjoy my time with other FCS (Family and Consumer Sciences) professionals and come home with a revived passion and pride in what I do as an educator and member of this organization.

For several of us, our day started at 6 a.m. for a 3 mile walk downtown. I live in suburban St. Louis, 30 miles west of the city – so being in charge of leading the walks was a challenge and wonderful way for me to learn more about this historic city. This map was an important tool in preparation:

Walking at AAFCS

The program was full of several workshops and programs, it was frustrating to not be in two places at once. I always come back with lots of new ideas and things I can do to be a better teacher. Ideas for sustainability in the fashions/apparel classroom, using social media in and out of the classroom, standards based grading, common core/literacy in the FACS classroom, and opportunities for my students after high school.

Many school districts are moving (or have already moved) toward the use of Standards Based Grading. I’m not going to try to explain how it works and the impact it has on assessment of students (if you want to learn more, you can check it out here and here), let me just say it is a challenge to rethink how I assess my students. Adlai E. Stevenson High School FCS department teachers to the rescue (I just checked the link this evening, they have not uploaded the PowerPoint from their presentation last week – keep checking!) I am excited to implement lots of their ideas for both my Foods and Fashion Construction courses.

LiveBinders

A second idea I can’t wait to try are LiveBinders. LiveBinders are a way to organize and control all of the websites/online videos/pdfs and other resources we use in our classrooms each and every day. Cindy Miller, FCSE, Texas Tech University captivated dozens of FCS teachers during her presentation about this wonderful tool. Here is a link to her Family and Consumer Sciences LiveBinder – check out the plethora of ideas and links!

No rest for the weary – tomorrow I will be spending the day learning more about Google Drive…maybe THIS time it will stick! Or maybe I’ll spend some time doodling…

Doodling

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in AAFCS, FACS, Home Economics, Standards Based Grading, Teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

