Is it January Already?

OK, I have been TERRIBLE at posting. Is there a worse word than terrible? Probably. A lot has happened since November 3 – Thanksgiving, sooner-than-expected death in the family, Christmas (and all the ensuing activities – baking, wrapping, shopping, not exercising…), sewing gifts (really…adding gifts yet unsewn to the pile), school starting again and the monthly countdown to Kate’s wedding can now be done on one hand.

On Houzz yesterday I read 11 Easy Ways to Keep Your New Year’s Resolutions. One of those 11 I will do right now – spend 10 minutes on a resolution. I am allowing myself 10 minutes to get a post done and set the stage for a later post – maybe even later today.

I have 2, actually 3 major sewing projects on my docket – my mother-of-the-bride dress, Kate’s rehearsal dress (made from MY wedding dress…yes, I must get out the shears) and her veil. 4 months, 13 days. I suppose I SHOULD finish before the actual day – maybe even 2 weeks before the day?

OK, 4 months. Wish me luck and I will look forward to your encouragement, support and even nagging, my friends.

What has kept me busy for the last week or so is this little surprise for my friend who is about to add some sweet pink to her family! (I can’t let you see much more – she might actually be reading this…)

Annabelle's Baby Blanket Close Up

So, here is what a 10 minute attempt at a resolution looks like…

Back from the shower! The teaser picture was an inspiration from sew4home.com. I did not order the fabric from fabric.com – I would like to one day, but found some really soft and plush minky-like fabric and flannel at my locan Joann’s. If any of you have ordered fabric online, I’d love to hear what you think.

Here is the finished product…

Baby Blanket 2

Apparently Nicole Kidman was spotted with a double-faced Minky Baby blanket…AND was just interviewed by Ryan Seacrest on the Golden Globes… coincidence?

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in DIY, Motivation, Sewing, Wedding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is it January Already?

  1. mtetar says:

    Thank you for sharing so many Great Posts, and projects. I love the little Denim Skirt, your kindergarten projects, love both sewing machines, choice of Great Fabrics, etc. Be BLESSED, Mtetar

  2. Oh, a talented sewer! Will you be sharing posts on your dresses? Sounds lovely!

  3. Liz B says:

    Remember to breathe…… It will all come together and will be spectacular!

Leave a Reply

