Halloween Fun at Middle School

Since it was Halloween last week, I decided to have some fun with my middle schoolers. Maybe they are getting too old for class parties and costumes at school (and BTW, things have sure changed in regard to THAT subject! I don’t remember the last time I heard of kids in public school being able to dress up and have a class Halloween party…but, I digress.) I did get my Halloween “on” with my snazzy purple tights – and a couple of my teacher neighbors did the same:

Since my 6th graders are in a sewing unit, we couldn’t prepare any food, so Pillsbury came to the rescue with their refrigerated cookie dough with the pumpkin in the middle. It’s great to be a FACS teacher with access to 5 kitchens!! I think I could have received 35 votes for teacher of the year that morning. 11-year-olds are easily bought with carbohydrates.

Pinterest was the source for the 7th grade fun. This was one of the first pictures I pinned to my FACS Teaching Ideas board. It looked fun and easy – but just didn’t have the right opportunity to work it into the curriculum. Enter Halloween and the need for a break from Power Points, worksheets, and learning everything they need to know before I let them be in the kitchens to start cooking. It was a hit, and some of them are going to try it with kids when they babysit. What’s not to love? Hot dogs and pasta!

Counting out the pasta

Hot dogs are cut – ready to start poking!

Waiting for the water to return to a boil

Boil for 10 minutes

Serve and enjoy!

The 8th graders made a delicious variation of the microwave cake-in-a-mug…using only cake mix and water! They loved them and again, it is something easy and safe for teens and tweens to do on their own.  I found the recipe on the Utah FACS Summer Conference proceedings link on the UEN website (an awesome source for FACS teaching ideas.) I don’t have a picture to share – most disappeared pretty fast.

Mix 1/2 cup of DRY cake mix with 1/3 cup of water in a cereal-sized bowl; stir for 1 FULL minute; microwave for 90 seconds (depends on your wattage – it can overcook quickly). Top with 2 tablespoons chocolate chips, chopped nuts and caramel topping; return to microwave for 10 – 15 seconds. Serve! It helps to spray the bowl with cooking spray and to wipe any excess batter from the bowl before you cook.

Next week we are off to visit our son in Knoxville, TN for the first Missouri/UT football game. I’m rooting for the Volunteers – and hopefully their first SEC win!

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in FACS, Home Economics, Pinterest, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

