7 Habits of Highly Effective People – including Middle School People!

My school, Crestview Middle School, has adopted the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People (and Teens…) as a way to “be”. The staff was provided an opportunity this past summer to participate in a three day 7 Habits training session, led by a member of the late Stephen Covey’s team. It was a pretty awesome way to spend three days. In the middle of July. While on summer break. Really.

I was anticipating yet another “this is how you can transform your classroom (and students) into great adolescents in the 44 minutes you get with them, and, oh by the way, do make sure to teach the curriculum too” workshop. Not so. It was the very same experience that many, many thousands of businesses and corporations have invested their resources on to help their staff see what potential they have as leaders in their own lives – therefore their work life – and become the best people they can be. Our administration is investing in us – if we are more effective in our own lives, we will be more effective as educators.  Kids catch attitudes – we can’t impose them.

Now, before I get on a soap box and share how I have become totally transformed…well,  I’m working on it – and really am trying to become a more effective person. However, it is pretty cool to participate in what our students are seeing they can do and in their own way inspire me to press ahead on my own journey.

For the first couple months of the school year, each curricular area is given the responsiblity to teach one of the 7 habits. The first habit is Be Proactive; I asked each of my classes what it means to be proactive – between a few of the responses, they recognized it  as taking responsibility for their lives – not just reacting to life (mom asked me to clean my room, so I did) but acting to life (cleaning my room BEFORE being asked to). So, to end the week, I had them write what they had done to be proactive last week on a sticky note and put it on the pincushion for all to see…here are some of the ways middle schoolers were proactive at CMS:

The one cleaned his dad’s truck without him asking…(who wouldn’t want that?)

Image

She wrote in her assignment book and payd (sic) attention to her homework!

Homework before resting after tennis…this is the path to success!!

I think this is one of my favorites – remember, we are talking middle school kids here…got up early enough to take a shower AND make the bus on time. What more could a parent ask for?

I think they got it.

I am trying to be proactive myself by making my lunch the night before – I HATE making my lunch! I’ve done it every night so far…and have avoided eating tater tots on Tuesdays…I love tater tot Tuesday.

Next habit? Begin With the End in Mind…I am embracing this fully – with a spring wedding in my future, wearing a sleeveless dress without the extra flapping middle-aged upper arms is the end I have in mind. I joined the gym last week and WILL embrace Body Pump class. I will…

Keep me honest!

 

 

 

 

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, FACS, Home Economics, Motivation, Teaching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Habits of Highly Effective People – including Middle School People!

  1. I like the way you explained about “7 Habits of Highly Effective People – including Middle School People!” Its not often that you find such clearness of depiction and range of ideas. Well written.

Leave a Reply

