Finishing Up a ‘Lil Dumpling

Last February between appointments for parent-teacher conferences I had little bits of time – just enough of them to start on a little project I had found on Pinterest a darling little zippered coin purse, inspired by Chinese rice dumplings. I printed off the tutorial (which you can also do here) and figured that these would be a productive way to be in my room for 4 1/2 hours spend the evening when I wasn’t scheduled to meet with parents. Here is a link to the website, Craft Passion, where you’ll find LOT of ideas, free patterns, tutorials and recipes.

Aren’t they DARLING? My sister-in-law, Paula always called her kiddos “little dumplings”, and I swear these little purses are almost as cute!

So, back to February.  I was able to cut the everything I needed and got the machine quilting finished between parent visits and had every intention of working on these little ditties over the next couple weeks when I had a moment or two. I got one finished by the end of the night, and liked it so much I decided to make a couple more. But this time I decided to make them a little bigger so they would be a little easier to work with – maybe not as cute, but definitely easier! The second night of P/T conferences provided enough time to get a couple more sets of fabric cut and quilted and then they sat. And sat. And sat a little more, like until this summer, where they have spent the last 8 weeks mocking me from my sewing area in the basement. (Does anyone else have unfinished projects that mock you from inside of their clear storage box?)

Since we are in a perpetual “heat advisory/warning” in the St. Louis area, there’s not a lot to do except stay inside and deal with mocking, unfinished craft projects. S0ooo, today was the day!

I’m not going to re-do the tutorial here, but do want to add a couple things that I found helpful after making three of these ‘lil dumplings.

First off, after making the first one the size instructed (5″), I decided to try making it a little bigger and cut my fabric 1″ larger (remember to cut the batting larger, too). You’ll also need to cut the last piece of cording 20+ inches so you’ll have enough to make a little bow when you’re finished.

Without a water-soluble fabric marker, I had to eyeball the first row of machine quilting, after which I used the presser foot as a guide to keep the lines straight. I thought I had a great idea to save time by not cutting the threads and just starting the next row…not so much, when it gets sewn together you need to make sure the machine quilting lines extend to the edge of the fabric! Duh. Either allow more thread between rows of stitching or take the extra 10 seconds to trim threads. (I have a history of not trimming threads – my first Home Economics project in 7th grade received a B+ because I hadn’t done this important finishing step! The things one remembers…)

DO read the instructions! You would think a FACS teacher would take her own advice every once in a while…she tells you near the end (when you sew the bottom seam, after the sides) to sew with the opening in the lining facing up – DO IT! It saves you having to take it out and re-do it later.

I may have missed this part in her instructions – but I sewed the opening in the lining together by hand – you could use the machine, but I don’t think it will save that much time.

I’m happy with how they turned out, and even happier to have one less unfinished project mocking me every time I go downstairs this summer. Hope you have some fun and make a couple little zippered purses for yourself! I think the larger size will be perfect to keep jewelry in for traveling – what do you think YOU’LL use one for?

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in DIY, Home Economics, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finishing Up a ‘Lil Dumpling

  1. adaisygarden says:

    These are so cute!!

Leave a Reply

