I finally have my OWN sewing machine!

This has been an interesting day for St. Louis (we broke a record for a high temperature of 108°, but without humidity it feels just like Phoenix instead of the Bahamas), an interesting day for the country (Supreme Court decision) and the 38th anniversary of the day my dad bought me my first sewing machine. Up to that time, this is what I had been using – a 1953 Singer Featherweight:

My dad wanted to make sure that no one at Washington State University would steal my high school graduation present, so you will notice the tatoo on top for all to see, including potential burglers. Oh, yeah, the spelling has changed. It was cool in 1969 to spell “Susie” as “Susi” – but someone else at CJHS took the “i” ending, so I was stuck with the “y”. Until we moved enough times for me to return to my original “ie”. It’s complicated.

Here is my entry from June 28, 1974:

Sunny 73°

OK day. I got up and had breakfast and knitted. then I washed my hair and had some Shasta and dad and I went to Southcenter. We looked at sewing machines at Penny’s and we put a down payment on one! Yeah! Then we looked around, and dad had a Tin Roof while I drank ice tea. (yeah me) I made dinner (clams – yuck) and before that Kathy came by with more material and had her dress hemmed. I went to Bellevue with Kim and she came over after. I did my exercizes. (sic)

The knitting? That was to make an afghan for the bed I was going to have when I pledged a sorority in college (that’s another story – but some of my favorite ADPi’s just happen to be gathering this weekend at Violet Beach on Whidbey Island in WA for the semi-annual girl’s weekend. SO wish I could be with them!). I did finish it – and it did keep me warm in the cold sleeping dorm (i.e. – windows open 24/7) for 2 years. Here is a picture from 2 years ago when I was fortunate enough to be there:

The ice tea/Shasta thing? Still working on those lbs…

Oh, and the exerciZes? They were from the Miss Craig’s 21 Day Shape Up Plan book, which I ordered today. (What did we ever do without Amazon?)  Definitely more on THAT to come!

And the sewing machine? I had it for 14 years and it sewed everything from Songfest frocks to first attempts at home decor (slipcovers, anyone?). The Pfaff I now have was a wonderful 5th anniversary suprise from the hubs. I kept both (and used both) until this year, when I handed down the Penncrest to my daughter, Kate, on her 25th birthday. She has made me proud with her interest and craftiness. She even posted a picture of one of her first projects with the Penncrest on her FB account. Kinda makes a mom proud.

I love that sewing machine…and am so happy no one bought it at a garage sale years ago for $35.

Enjoy the day – and keep cool. I might even do a little sewing tomorrow – or perhaps organize all of the stuff I collected at the AAFCS conference…or, who knows?

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Bellevue, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I finally have my OWN sewing machine!

  1. My first machine was a cheap Singer with one of those front-loading bobbins. I hated it! It took me an hour just to stick the bobbin in. I finally upgraded to a Singer Curvy last year with a top-loading bobbin, and I’ve never looked back.

  2. Susie says:

    Cheap machines are NOT good, it sounds like you figured that out. Whenever parents ask me what kind of machine they should get for their kids, I try my best to steer them away from the inexpensive ones they advertise at the holidays. Good tools make all the difference. So happy to follow your progress this summer!

  3. Liz Burgess says:

    Nice post! I envy soriority reunions, and the women who can treasure those relationships!

    Loved the pic of your first sewing machine! Mine was a Kenmore from Sears, and I think I did sell it at a garage sale years ago. However, I acquired a Singer in a cabinet from a good friend later and didn’t sell that one at the recent garage sale. Maybe I should hang on to that one in case one of the daughters wants it! Some of those oldies just keep on stitching, don’t they?

    • Susie says:

      To be honest, I wasn’t sure she would want it. I have Pinterest to thank for both her and my revived sewing. Definitely keep your machine!

  4. lesleycarter says:

    Great shots! Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

