41 Years Ago..Summer Started in Moraga CA

June 21, 1971                                                                                                               Sunny 50 – 70º

We left at 5:00 on the dot for a summer (well, 10 days) in Morgaga (sic). It was foggy and cold in the beginning so Cyndy and I slept until our first pit stop. We got out and visited the ladies room. We ate some food along the way (cookies) , apricots (blech), dried prunes (blech) apples, juice, pop, and Hershy’s (sic) miniatures. We read, slept and looked at various times along the way down. The further (we drove 13½ hours) south we got, the hotter it got. The last two hundred miles or so were spent playing slug bug and paper, rock & scissors. There was a really cool fleet of about 100 or more ships left over from World War II in the Carquinez Straits. They looked like they were going to attack any minute.

(My tastebuds have improved – I like (and appreciate) dried apricots and prunes now and would LOVE to find the flat raisin cookies somewhere!) Those were Navy ships in what is called a Ghost Fleet – there are still many kept in the area, but in the 80s many were turned into scrap metal. Here is a link to find out a little more about the history of the area; and a photo of what it looks like now:

This morning I also woke up at 5 a.m. – but now it’s due to my internal clock thinking “if it’s good enough during the school year, it’s good enough now.”  Oh well – I get more daylight than most being an early riser – and isn’t there a worm involved? (blech)  On today’s agenda (and every Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday) is a training “run” with my friends Kristine (fellow teacher on break) and Terri (grandma to 5 darling kiddos – 3 of which are the triplets I posted about). We calling it running – but it’s actually week 3 of our C25K schedule. For those unfamiliar with C25K – it’s basically a schedule to train for a 5K if you aren’t a runner – Couch to 5 K – clever, huh? I coerced these ladies into joining me (I was tired of running solo) and we are signed up for The Color Run in St. Louis. Normally, we are able to do our 5 miles (overachievers, I know) using the run/walk method without much of a problem, but today my arse was draggin’. Kristine assured me this was a temporary setback – I hope so! None of us think of ourselves as runners – and if you’ve ever flirted with the idea of trying a 5K (it was my goal when I turned 55… 39 last year), this is definitely the way to go. Find a friend (or two), a shady trail and just do it.

On a side note, I am also a Rockhound Amateur Geologist, well, child of an Amateur Geologist. It’s in my blood to be looking down when I am walking in case there is something cool down there I need to pick up. When I was a kid, it was to find agates or other stones for my dad (family vacations were designed around hunting for rocks, really) now it is for shells when I am lucky enough to be at the beach or when I run it’s for a bag of cash that someone has accidentally dropped and forgotten about. I’d even take a $20. Haven’t found any money yet, but the last couple Saturdays have proven to be fruitful if you enjoy rusty railroad stuff.

At our running turnaround point we go under a railroad trestle which goes over the Meramac River – a little loud and scary when a train on the bridge – and I spied this hook thing – not sure what it is, but on my mantle it looks like a flexed strong arm, which might have been God’s way to keep me feeling strong and motivated:

Then, last Saturday I saw this nail and knew it was the companion piece to the hook. I asked Terri to make sure if I stumbled to yell at me to throw it down so I wouldn’t impale myself with a rusty railroad track nail!

My husband loves trains, I told him I picked them up for him. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it (here’s the other side of the mantle with the nail on the left)

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Collecting, Couch to 5K and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

