A Project in a Day

I am a teacher. A Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) teacher who is on summer break. Despite the rumors, we don’t have 3 months off, more like 9 weeks, but I am not complaining. Many of the last few summers were spent in workshops, honing my technology skills  (I keep trying…), sharing best practices with my fellow FACS teacher friends, and keeping up with the ever-changing face of education these days. Kids (and FACS) have changed a lot since I graduated from college – there are days I still yearn for a piece of chalk instead of my Smartboard (not very often, but when your technology doesn’t work, it can have a devastating effecct on a lesson plan!) But NOT this year! I am signed up for only one more workshop…I WILL be a teacher on break in the summer in 2012 – call me for a lunch date, walk, run, trip to the mall?

Thanks to Pinterest  (have I mentioned I have a Pinterest Addiction? Seriously…I have pinned 4K things!) I am having a lot of fun actually DOING some of the sewing, DIYing, cooking and crafting this summer that I have pushed to the back part of my life for many of the last 15 years. While I hope I am human bewteen August and May – this ecard my friend, Terri posted did cause me to chuckle just a bit – I love this site!

Funny Somewhat Topical Ecard: Ah summer... the time when teachers become human again.

When it is 95 degrees outside, as it was today (and for the next SEVERAL weeks in St. Louis) the basement, my DVR and sewing machine in the basement beckon. Today I made 3 little denim skirts for 3 special little girls. The girls are the granddaughters of my walking buddy and friend. I was able to hold my little namesake ( I know, she isn’t ACTUALLY named after me, but we do share a unique name – Hadley), if you’d like to see her sisters and read about their story, check out Abbey’s blog at Life Treasured.

Yesterday, while doing my best imitation of a couch potato/slug I spied this tutorial for a denim skirt for babies on kojo designs, isn’t it DARLING? What well-dressed baby girl doesn’t need a denim skirt in her wardrobe? I knew I had to make one or three or four (I have a Swedish granddaughter as well – not by blood, but by heart). What a fun project – and who else can boast making 3 skirts while watching last night’s  DVR’d RHNJ? (another whole topic – I’m kind of getting a little bit over their feuds) I digress… Here is a picture of the “pinspiration”:

I would share a picture of the 3 finished skirts, but as mentioned above – I’m rather techonolgically impaired. The software to upload photos is in my desk at school and not on this computer. So, the pics of my rendition will have to wait – and may mean I’ll actually have to leave the house tomorrow instead of hibernating in the cool basement and retrieve it.

I’ve been busy and have some fun projects to share – and hope to post about them soon. They are living in the memory card in the camera…remember that commercial from a few years ago?

Until then – keep cool!

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in Sewing, Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Project in a Day

  1. LizB. says:

    Very cute! I’m all for something one can start and finish in one day! Your namesake is an absolute doll!!!

  2. Terri Hall says:

    The skirts are darling. Gaga can’t wait to deliver them today.

  3. Glad to see you’re actually taking a break this summer! I’m spending my summer more focused on clothing than accessories, and I’m taking the Couture Dress class on craftsy.com (it’s amazing)!

Leave a Reply

