Congratulations, grads!

June 9, 1974

“…the lines got screwed up and I ended up going down with Jaime Graham. We were so rowdy!! The lights were sooo hot, and we couldn’t understand anything that they were said (sic). At least 6 or 7 people had bubbles, silly string, firecrackers, balloons, etc. There were a couple of glider planes, too. They were so funny!! It was neat, but I kind of expected more of a thrill.”

(I wonder what kind of thrill I was expecting? – The expectations of an event are sometimes more thrilling than the event itself, aren’t they?)

This was the first entry from the journal I started the summer I graduated from Bellevue High School, the day after the ceremony and all-night party (parent-planned/chaperoned BTW). Our class was so large that the Opera House at the 1962 World’s Fair site in Seattle was the venue for all the high schools in Bellevue, very cool and likely the ONLY time I will ever be on stage in an opera house!

For some reason I kept a journal only in the summer. It reflected the activities of my day, including the weather, what I had done and even what I had eaten. This particular summer was one of many changes – graduation, my parents selling my childhood home, transitioning to college and what appears to be the beginning of my ongoing battle with the same 10  15 pounds. I suppose I should be happy with the number, but geez, you’d think after trying to lose them for 38 years SOME amount of progress would have been made by now!

I was a prodigious sewer back then, mostly my own clothes. In the 70s, most clothing was still fairly pricey – no Wal Mart or Target with fashionable pieces. We lived for the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale each July.  Sew, (pun intended) I made a lot of my own things.  Almost 40 years later I have rediscovered the joy and creativity sewing gives me. You can buy clothes for a lot less than it costs to make them these days, but it isn’t as much fun to answer as to where I got something with Target as it is with “I made it!”

I saw this awesome shirt dress in a Lacoste ad:

Cute, huh?  Maybe a little short for this lady, but I knew exactly what I needed to do…MAKE IT and save about $150.  I happened to have the perfect fabric in my stash – Martha Stewart percale bed sheets (previous life as balloon shades in my daughter’s bedroom…another story), purchased a pattern (on sale at Joann’s!) and got to work. First attempt was a disaster, too big in some spots, too small in others.  Took it apart, redid the bodice and made my own sleeve pattern (thank you Flat Pattern Design class in college…still have the textbook). Here is the result:

This will be accompanying me on my trip out east this week to visit my pal in Princeton – I get to be a guest to her book club (thank goodness I read the book – The Paris Wife), go down the shore and go to Rice’s an awesome flea market across the Delaware (George Washington will not be there).  I’m excited to get away from my “to do” list and spend some time with Mary Ellen.

I have lots more to catch you up on – a few home improvement DIYs while the hubby was gone.  It involves that bird fabric covered ottoman, paint, sandpaper, a strained back, a glass or two of wine – but not at the same time…

Enjoy the day!

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Congratulations, grads!

  1. Leslie says:

    Where is the smoking jacket?!??

    • Susie says:

      Good idea! The dress was first, though. I will try to send you a picture of the fabric, I think you’ll agree that it is definitely smoking jacket material.

Leave a Reply

