A Pinterest-Inspired Valentine Project

I have an  obsession with Pinterest – in fact, you need to know I am a Pinterest junkie. Ask my husband – between Pinterest and the Nate Berkus shows I record every day I have made a new dent in the family room couch and a headline in the family Christmas newsletter. Pinterest is a website where you can link  to a world of wonderful ideas: cooking, decorating, crafting, lifestyle, art and so much more. When I joined the site last summer, I noticed some people had over 1000 pins – they must need a life if they had THAT much time to spend on one site – keeping track of Facebook was time-consuming enough! Never say never. I am closing in on 3000 pins myself. I have one board just for school ideas and last week I found an idea from Pink and Green Mama, a paper-stitched Valentine card. Perfect for the a quick and easy project for my beginning sewers, here is the picture which caught my eye and became the inspiration to conclude the lessons on learning to control the sewing machine.

Did I mention I am also teaching several of the teachers in the building how to sew? Yep, every Monday afternoon the FACS room is THE gathering spot for the French teacher, a couple PE teachers, and several members of the 7th grade core subject team who come down to room 109 and become students.  I wanted them to walk out the door with something to show for their efforts, so after they learned to thread and control the machine, I let them loose with the scrap basket and some card stock.

I’m happy to say, only ONE of them sewed her card shut! She teaches several of my students so I just HAD to let them know about it. Sewing the card shut is now called  a McColgan.

The kids made theirs and they had a great time. One of the cards is on its way to Florida to wish grandma a happy Valentine’s Day. All you sewers out there – it’s not too late! Sew up a simple Valentine wish for YOUR sweetie.

The Pinterest Challenge

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing, Teaching, Valentines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

