Third Time’s the Charm…Right?

To introduce myself, I am Susie – a baby boomer living in suburban St. Louis Missouri. I am a wife of 28+ years to my husband, Jim and mother of two great adult kids – Kate (25) and Brett (22). The four-legged members of the family are Wrigley, the amazing Golden Retriever and Sally, the noisy rescue cat.

During the day I teach middle school Family and Consumer Sciences – some of you may know my class as Home Economics – and yes, it IS alive and well in the curriculum of thousands of schools across the nation. I knew I wanted to teach as a 7th grader at Chinook Junior High in the 70s, nurtured by a wonderful teacher, Elaine Berge Hillyer. My out-of-school time is spent keeping our empty nest organized, trying new recipes, working on my daughter’s high school graduation quilt ( I know, she graduated from high school a few years ago), sewing and trying to get ready for a 5K run this spring and lots of time on Pinterest.

The thrid time reference goes to my first and second attempts at blogging. The posts from my first attempt, Musings of a 70s Middle Schooler are found below. Enjoy – and I look forward to spending some time as a middle schooler of the 20th century with you.

About Susie

I teach Family and Consumer Sciences at a large suburban high school in the St. Louis metropolitan area and have been in the classroom since 1985 - my goal is to stay relevant and innovative even though I've been around long enough for Wilma Flintstone to have been my mentor! Married since 1983 and mom to two adult children who live out of state. About to become a first-time Mor-Mor (grandma) in December.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Bellevue and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Third Time’s the Charm…Right?

  1. When my friends ask me when I learned to sew, I always say, “Home ec, where else?” I completely appreciate you as a former student and as a current teacher.

  2. Liz B. says:

    Love the blog! I haven’t read the old one yet, but plan to. Is the picture from your back yard?
    My junior high school home-ec teacher was Mrs. Murioto. She didn’t take anything from anyone! I took home-ec all three years in high school, thinking the “easy A” would help my gpa. The joke was on me! After 10th grade, none of it counted! Great post!

    • susiehamlin says:

      The picture is the side yard of my sister-in-law’s family cottage on Lake Charlevoix in Michigan – I spent every morning there on our vacation, drinking coffee, checking Facebook and reading. Heaven.

  3. D J Hadley says:

    Great pic of a summer day … in northern Michigan. Come again!

  4. susiehamlin says:

    @DJ – can’t wait, although it felt kind of like a northern Michigan summer day here in St. Louis…64 degrees on January 30? No snow days ahead for this teacher, I fear.

Leave a Reply

