13 months, 40 years

Cloudy/rainy 60 degrees. “A GOOD DAY!” We got up and a quarter to nine and went clamming. Mom & I caught 1, his name is George. We had scrambled eggs, bacon & tea for breakfast. I washed my hair & we went on a walk. We went to the Post Office and walked in front of their motel quite a few times, but they were inside or something. We went to Ocean Park and walked home from Sid’s. Then we went on a real long walk all around. We saw Molly, and then walked to Long Beach. We watched the zoom cars & a red car that had asked us if we wanted a ride this morning drove by with those guys in it, so we jogged back & 4 of them went into the store & 2 were talking on the phone and then we talked to them about those 2 guys last night (their names are Grant & Greg) and one fo them told us we could come over tonight, so we walked home…
It’s been 13 months AND 39 years since my last entry – I have a friend whose daughter has started a blog of her journey to motherhood X 3, yes, that’s correct – triplets. Got me thinking…hey, I haven’t been on MY blog for a while, a long while. I ventured downstairs to look for my journals to see was going on in Susy Hadley’s life 40 years ago today. Found ’em – ironically, my husband had just come across them mixed in with HIS mementoes. God does work in some mysterious and helpful ways.
Apparently a little ‘splainin is needed. I can recall this day clearly, as if it were yesterday – perhaps better than yesterday. I was visiting my BFF, Betsy, at her summer home near Long Beach, WA. She, her brothers and mom would move there every summer. Betsy was able to take her horse, Molly. Betsy’s mom, Marjorie, was like a 2nd mother to me – imagine Angela Lansbury from “Murder She Wrote”, but on the west coast. Marge was a gifted artist and had a quirky style I loved. I enjoyed the time I spent there with them and felt very lucky to be a small part of the summer magic at “the ocean”.
Back to the ‘splainin…on this day, Betsy and I were stalking some cute guys we had spotted in town who were riding their bikes across the state. From the amount of walking we did from her house, up and down the highway (later that night I see we got a warning for walking on the wrong side of the street…) we must have been on a mission. From the July 9 entry I see we had just met this “All American” guy (Grant) and his friend (Greg). What’s funny about this is I recall we tried to find these guys for DAYS – from my diary it appears to have been a 24 hour project with an unhappy ending. On July 11, I read of their departure from Long Beach, we were left with the locals, the zoom cars (go-carts, 70s style) and a horse named Molly.
40 years later? Had an equally GOOD DAY – good company, good food and a clean house. Friends who have moved back to my childhood stomping grounds in Washington are in town and we hosted a gathering of neighborhood friends for brunch. Any day when your house is clean and you can enjoy a Bloody Mary is a good day, right? Later, daughter Kate returned with my new grandpuppy to Kansas City after a short visit, I miss them already.
Keeping with my 15-year-old ways of reporting the weather conditions back then – it is 91 degrees and a dew point of 82 in St. Louis at 8:20 p.m. Not the kind of temps we had in Bellevue.
About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Bellevue, Long Beach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

