Found the Diaries Today

Today, following a conversation with my 20 year-old son, I ventured to the basement storage room to find my long-lost 1981 LSAT score report. I didn’t find it, but I did find the 3 diaries I kept during the summers of junior high. As I read what I wrote then, I was taken back to the 3 bedroom house on Clyde Hill and found myself entranced by my own life, 40 years ago. Here is the entry from June 9, 1970, 2 days before my last day as a 7th grader at Chinook Junior High School.

“Babysat for the Bell’s. Cyndy sleeps overnight and has rock cornish game hens for dinner. We take a luxery (sic) bath and a cocktail. Listen to the raidio (sic) till 10:30.”

Let me clarify – I did not drink alcoholic cocktails,the “luxery bath” was us wearing our bathing suits in the tub while indulging in the various bath salts, bubbles and other stuff we could afford on our babysitting money and I needed to learn to spell! The Bells were the kids across the street – they and my 3 nephews were the main gigs back then – the going rate for primo sitters back then was anywhere from .50 to .75 an hour.

Today? Walked the dog for an hour, did a load of laundry, ran errands and was excited to find bathing suits on sale at Land’s End for 50% off, undies on sale at Soma for $3.99. The undies alone would have cost a whole day’s pay then. Dinner tonight? Tilapia Pitas – I’m not sure “tilapia” was even available in 1970 and I’m not sure I had ever heard of pita bread!

I’ve been out of school here since May 28 – there are 2 more days to go for “Susy” (as I spelled my name then!).

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
This entry was posted in 1970s, Bellevue. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Found the Diaries Today

  1. Elaine Hillyer says:

    Sure enjoyed reading your blog Susie! I admire all that you have accomplished. You are one
    busy gal! Thanks for sharing this with me. Fondly, Elaine H.

Leave a Reply

