Two Christmas Projects are DONE!!

How exciting!!

This week I finished TWO, yes TWO Christmas projects. Please ignore they were for Christmas 2012 – as many accountants and those who work for the government will attest, numbers are often irrelevant and can be manipulated as the situation dictates.

Last year I made pillows for family members and friends using some favorite photos and transferring them to special heat transfer fabric. This VERY easy to do – and worked great on my home printer. Here is a tutorial on eHow. The response from everyone waas great, so this year I decided to do it again – but make them more individual this time.

My daughter, Kate (a.k.a. Bride-to-Be or BtB) gave the hubs and I these framed maps for our anniversary last year. Here they are – the one on the left is where we were each born and where we got married (Go VOLS!) and the one on the right is where our family has lived since BtB made us a threesome.

Hamlin Family Framed Fotos

So, with this as my inspiration I turned to etsy - quick search for “state maps” and I found Saturated Color. Her customer service is great – a couple of the maps I ordered were digital and the others are actual pages from old social studies books. Sad to say, I think some of them looked a little familiar, does that make ME vintage? The digital images arrived immediately, the actual pages were in my mailbox within a week – protected from any sort of impact they might have been exposed to.  All I needed to do was download or scan, transfer to the fabric, buy some fabric and pillow forms, decide how I would put them together, clean the house, prepare food for all of our guests/visitors, clean the house, go to the grocery store, teach school, wrap gifts, clean the house…well, you get the idea. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

What ended up being completed by Christmas Eve were the downloaded images, wrapped up in a tube an inserted into stockings with a promise!

Following are the VERY basic steps I took to make 2 of the pillows – one for BtB and another for FSIL (Future Son-in-Law). Yes, you are correct – the rest are still just a figment of your imagination – but are in a REAL pile on my pile of UFOs (unfinished objects).

1) I decided to save myself a bit of math work and use a Log Cabin type piecing system. After transferring the photos to the fabric, I cut two pieces of fabric the length of the shortest end of the picture. I used a 1/4″ seam because there was not a lot of fabric to work with on the sides of the picture.

Piecing Map

Here is what it looks like from the right side.

Map Pieced Right Side

I used the design and the edge of my presser foot to sew the pieces together. Apologies to eastern Pennsylvania, I hope there were no injuries resulting from a giant sewing machine needle sewing through you.

Line up cut edge with presser foot

All 4 sides attached – but it looked a little plain, so after searching through my ribbon box, I found some pretty gray grosgrain that matched the drawings on the maps perfectly.

All 4 Sides Added

It needed a little something

I purchased 14 X 14″ pillow forms, so trimmed the fronts to 15 X 15″ (allowing 1/2″ seam allowances on all 4 sides) and cut a 15 X 15″ piece for the back of each pillow. If I have the gumption, sometimes I will insert a zipper in the pillow back – but lacking the zippers and said gumption – these two were made without.

Fold under raw edges

All sewn together and ready for the newlywed’s home! I had some heart-shaped buttons in my stash and put one on the city where each of them were born.

Kate was born in State College He was born in Springfield IL

Hearts showing where they were born

Just a few more to tackle before Christmas 2013 creeps up on me.

Weather around here is chilly – freezing drizzle turning to rain then 68 degrees forecast for Monday. As a teacher, I must protest – what happened to SNOW in the winter????

About Susie

Wife, mother of 2 adult kiddos, high school Family and Consumer Sciences teacher, marginal blogger, native of the GPNW (Great Pacific Northwest) current midwesterner, and relatively new mother-in-law.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Christmas Projects are DONE!!

  1. mtetar says:

    Very Nice, and lots of time spent which makes you a person of patience. Thanks for sharing. http://projectsbyMtetar.wordpress.com

  2. Liz B says:

    I love these! What a great idea for btbs and fsils. Will make a note to check out the website! Thanks for the compliment about the library. I’ve tried to get a job there, but everyone wants to work there so there aren’t many openings. Ice, slippery & 31 here, but we are supposed to warm up a little, too! Have a great week!

  3. Terri Hall says:

    Great idea, love the pillows.

Leave a Reply

